LibGuides: Chicana/o Studies Research Guide: Research Articles

Mesa College Specialty Databases

Photo credit from Unsplash

We Have a Variety of Databases With Articles for Chicana/o Studies Research

Country Watch
Database of information on the world's countries. (Provider: CountryWatch)
Diversity Studies Collection
A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework. Explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. (Provider: Gale)
Ethnic News Watch
Database of articles published by ethnic and minority presses. (Provider: ProQuest)
Informe Academico
Targets the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. Provides quality reference material --not simply translations of English-language materials-- configured for Spanish-speaking users, allowing researchers to analyze topics and conduct research in Spanish. (Provider: Gale)
SocINDEX
Special collection of journals and books for research in sociology and related fields. Provides extensive coverage of social issue topics. (Provider: EBSCO)
World Scholar: Latin America And The Caribbean
Covering Latin America culture and society from the fifteenth century to the present day, the collection meets the needs of researchers, postgraduates, and undergraduates with interests in regional studies, history, political science, anthropology, sociology, economics, and international relations.This multidisciplinary resource includes a comprehensive range of content for the region, providing research across the humanities both for current issues and events in Latin America and the Caribbean as well as for historical perspective back to the colonial period. (Provider: Gale)

Articles From Our Collection

Below you will find a list of topics. When you click on the link it will take you to the Mesa College library catalog and give you a list of items available through our system. You must have a Mesa College CSID in order to access this content

The Chicano Movement- Journal articles, newspaper articles, reference entries, ebooks and more on this subject.

Open Access Articles

These articles are available for free on the open web and have been vetted as credible by your librarians.

East L.A. Blowouts: Walking Out for Justice in the Classroom - Article from public broadcasting station KCET with an explanation of the 1968 walkouts.
History of Chicano Park - Short article brought to us by UCSD
The Chicano Movement - Information about Cesar Chavez, Chicano Park and multiple online exhibits regarding all aspects of the Chicano Movement. brought to us by UCSD

Specific Journals

Below are Specific Journals Available Through The Mesa College Library. You will need your Mesa CSID in order to access the content.

Aztlan- Aztlán presents original research that is relevant to or informed by the Chicano experience. An interdisciplinary, double-blind peer-reviewed journal. Aztlán seeks ways to bring Chicano studies into critical dialogue with Latino, ethnic, American, and global studies.

Associations

National Association for Chicana and Chicano Studies (NACCS)- The NACCS serves as a forum promoting communication and exchange of ideas among Chicana and Chicano scholars across all geographical and disciplinary boundaries. NACCS promotes and enhances the opportunities and participation of Chicanas and Chicanos at all levels and positions of institutions of higher learning. As such NACCS has become an effective advocate for both students and scholars. NACCS stages an annual national conference, which attracts 800 to 1,500 participants to listen to over eighty-five presenters on a variety of topics that affect the Chicana/o community.

Chicana/o Studies Research Guide

Ask A Librarian

Mesa College Specialty Databases

Articles From Our Collection

Open Access Articles

East L.A. Blowouts: Walking Out for Justice in the Classroom - Article from public broadcasting station KCET with an explanation of the 1968 walkouts.

Specific Journals

Associations