Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fashion Research Guide

Resources to help you when researching subjects related to fashion

The Vogue Archive"vogue archive"

The entire run of Vogue Magazine from 1892 to the present day with high-resolution color page images. Beyond the obvious coverage of fashion, this database also includes valuable resources for the study of gender, photography, social history, theater, popular culture, and much more. (Provider: ProQuest)

 

Artstor

Artstor logo

Artstor is a database that contains more than one million images of art, architecture, the humanities, the social sciences and photography which span various cultures and time periods and can be a great resource for researching fashion history.rt

Access Artstor from the Mesa Library homepage

  • Click on Article and Reference Databases

  • Click on Show All Databases A-Z or on the Art Subject/Category

  • Click on Artstor

If accessing Artstor from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your CSID and last name.

 

Searching Artstor

Keyword Search

  1. Enter keyword(s) in the search box and the search icon.
  2. The results will be returned as thumbnail images.
  3. Refine your search by entering another search term and clicking on the Within this search result box.

Advanced Search features 

  • Change the In Any Field drop-down box to limit your search by Title, Creator, Material, Culture or other the relevant
  • Limit by date
  • Under the Classification section on the right, select Fashion, Costume and Jewelry to limit your search to that art-form

For more ideas, check out Artstor's Subject Guides: http://www.artstor.org/content/fashion-and-costume 

Registering for an Artstor Account

Getting Started at Artstor

Downloading to PowerPoint