This is the "Home" page of the "English Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
San Diego Mesa College Learning Resource Center San Diego Mesa College Library Research Guides

English Research Guide  

Last Updated: Jan 3, 2014 URL: http://sdmesa.libguides.com/english Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Resources

Mesa College LRC

The Mesa College Library provides access to an extensive collection of print and online books and journals.

The Library's book collection includes over 100,000 print books, over 30,000 online books, and over 17,000 print and online magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers.

For Library hours and a virtual library tour, click here.

CQ Researcher Database

Pros and cons columns on a blackboard

CQ Researcher is a good starting point for in-depth, unbiased research on social trends, politics, the environment, and other current topics.  It can be especially useful for argumentative or persuasive essays and reports as each report covers the pros and cons of the issues covered.

CQ Researcher

Try it out!

      
     

    Where Do I Start?

     While you may be tempted to start your research with Google, this may not be the most efficient or effective way to do academic research.  Anybody can post anything on the Internet so the quality of the information may be questionable.  Consider the following:

    If asked to find scholarly articles on the health effects of smoking:

    • Google search -- 7,520,000 results.  Number that are scholarly: unknown.
    •  

    • Google Scholar search -- 1,570,000 results.  Number that can be viewed by Mesa students: unknown.
    •  

    • EbscoHost search (Library subscription database) -- By limiting your search to full text and scholarly articles, you will retrieve 351 articles that can be viewed anytime from wherever you access the Internet.  Number that can be viewed by Mesa students: all

    The Library's books and online databases are carefully selected for the quality of their content with the online resources being available to Mesa students 24/7 from any computer with Internet access.  Take a look at the Mesa Library website for access to the Library's collections and use the resources in this research guide to find materials specific to your English research projects.

    Bart Simpson

     

    Profreading yur papper

    To activate closed captions, put the curser over the red CC symbol and click on "Transcribe audio".

        Librarian Help

      Need help with your research?            Ask a Librarian sign

      No problem!

     Click below to find out how to get help anytime, from anywhere.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip