Black Studies Resources

Citing, Writing, & Research Tips

Quick Tips for Citing and Writing  (with resource links to help):

1. Cite your sources. — The following online guides can help you:
   • APA Formatting and Style Guide (The OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab)
   • MLA Formatting and Style Guide (The OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab)
   • Cite Sources Web Page From Mesa College Library
   • NoodleBib Citation Software
     • NoodleBib "how to" video
2. Know what plagiarism is and avoid it in your writing ... Likewise, always use copyrighted materials ethically and legally.
   • Academic Integrity and Plagiarism Research Guide
   • How to Avoid Plagiarism (Writing Center @ University of Wisconsin—Madison)
   • Plagiarism: Avoid the Consequences (Center for Online Education)
   • Copyright Basics (Regents of the University of California)
3. Proofread before submitting a final version of a paper, assignment, report, resume, etc. ... Review grammar and writing tips here:
   • General Writing Resources (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
   • Online Handouts on Grammar and Writing (Writing Center @ UNC—Chapel Hill)
   • Writer's Handbook (from the Writing Center @ University of WIsconsin—Madison)
   • Writing Guides (Indiana University)
   • Why and How to Create a Useful Outline (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
   • Creating an Outline Template (Xavier University)
4. Get writing support. — At Mesa College, writing help is available in person and online.  Connect with the Writing Center located in the Library/Learning Resource Center building.

 Top Quick Research Tips (plus support resources):

1. Evaluate your sources -- quality matters. Are the sources you are using credible, and how can you be sure?
   • Evaluating Resources (UC Berkeley Library Guide)
   • Evaluating Sources for Credibility (North Carolina State University)


2. Use scholarly and professional resources, as appropriate for college and workplace projects.
   • Comparison of Scholarly, Professional, and Popular Periodicals (Penn State University Libraries)
   • What is a Scholarly Journal? (San Diego State University)
   • What is a Peer-Reviewed Article? (California Polytechnic State University Library - San Luis Obispo campus)


3. Scan all research tool options and select the best database for your topic and resource type requirements.  Also, don't limit yourself to one database only.  Searching a variety can be worth it.
   • See database listing on Article Databases page.
   • Video: Finding an Article Using One Search (For the San Diego Mesa College Library Catalog of books, articles and videos)
   • Video: Refining One Search Results with Filters (Using our One Search tool's advanced features to get better results)


4. Try out common advanced searching techniques to save time and improve your database search results:
   • Use database "LIMIT" features to focus your search.  (e.g., limit to full text only, scholarly journals, specific dates, etc.).
   • Use quotes to tell most databases to search your keywords as an exact phrase.  (e.g., type "social justice" or "black minds matter" with the surrounding quotes).
   • Explore each database's "Advanced Search" and "Help" menus for additional search options and tips.
   • Take advantage of other tools built into most database platforms (e.g., PRINT, EMAIL, CITE, and PERMALINK functions).
   • Remember that refining (narrowing, broadening, refocusing) your research topic and keyword concepts — as you run test searches and evaluate the supporting resources available — is a normal part of the research process.


5.  If you get stuck, have questions, or would like research assistance, please don't hesitate to get in touch with the campus reference librarian team.  We are here for you.  Ask us.