Communication Studies Guide (New)

Informative Speech Description

Your aim will be to convey knowledge and understanding—not to advocate a cause or issue. Example informative speeches may include: describing an object, showing how something works, reporting on an event, or explaining a concept (Lucas, 2023). 

- Refer to your instructor and course materials for the specific guidelines and expectations used in your class.

Persuasive Speech Description

Persuasion is the process of creating, reinforcing, or changing people’s beliefs or actions. When you speak to persuade, you act as an advocate. Your job is to get listeners to agree with you and to act on that belief. In persuasive speeches, your goal may be to defend an idea, to refute an opponent, or to inspire people to action. 

Persuasive speeches build on the skills used in speaking to inform by presenting information that affects listeners’ attitudes, beliefs, or actions

Refer to your instructor and course materials for the specific guidelines and expectations used in your class.

...With Description add databases useful for Com Analysis ....(Both Comm Studies Databases)

Useful Library Resources

You may want to search in a specific database of articles. We have over 100 individual databases that specialize in specific subject areas. You can find them here:

• A-Z Databases

The library also has a collection of reference ebooks. These books are specifically created to give facts and not try and bias the reader. They are a great place to get the foundational background for your speech

• Gale Virtual Reference Collection

• Oxford Reference Collection

Are you creating a platform speech on a controversial topic? You may want to look at these controversial issue databases that will give you background information and articles that may be biased towards a certain side of the issue

• CQ Researcher

  • Database of special reports on current controversial issues. Each single-themed report includes an issue overview, background, outlook, and pro/con feature plus infographic charts and lists of resources for further investigation.

• Gale: Opposing Viewpoints  

  • This database contains information on today's most hotly debated topics. Delivers a range of perspectives on important issues through a remarkable compilation of proven reference content.

Streaming Videos Through The Library!

(below is a selection, if you'd like to see all of our streaming video databases click here)

• Films on Demand

  • This database has thousands of educational videos on a wide variety of topics.

• Kanopy

  • This database includes a wide variety of films, including documentaries.

• PBS Video Collection

  • This collection of more than 1,200 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more.

Below is our "One Search" tool. This will search about 75% of our Mesa College databases all at once. Use the left hand menu of your search results to refine your topic. Just put in your search term and give it a try!