Search Tutorials
 |
If you are looking for a specific book title ... or if you need to track down books on a particular subject for a research project, search the online Library Catalog. Our collection includes both electronic books that you can access and read online 24/7, and print books that you can borrow to read at home. You will need the actual ID card to check out print books, and you will use your ID# to log on to e-books. Note that you are also eligible to request print books from the City and Miramar campuses. |
To find print or online books in the catalog which discusses a topic from a sociological point of view, try the following:
Examples :
Many subject headings include the word "sociology" or "sociological". (e.g. Sociology of religion; sports -- sociological aspects) By entering the term sociolo* with an asterisk, the computer will search for any word that begins with sociolo and ends with anything else.
To see some eBooks or encyclopedias, dictionaries or reference books about sociology click on the tabs above.
The Mesa College Library has a large collection of speech, debate, rhetoric, and communications books in print which are located on Floor 3.
For books on your particular area of interest, search the catalog above.
Check out this sample of a few print books that you can check out from the library to get you started:
Deviance and Social Control in Sport by 
Violent Video Games and Society by 
Toxic Inequality by 
The Rules of Sociological Method by 
Required Reading: Sociology's Most Influential Boks by 
Making Sense of Social Theory by 
Seminal Sociological Writings - From Auguste Comte to Max Weber by 
From the War on Poverty to the War on Crime by 
Understanding, Dismantling, and Disrupting the Prison-to-School Pipeline by 
Black LGBT Health in the United States by 
Society by To explore some books in print other than dictionaries and encyclopedias or eBooks click on the tabs above.
The Mesa College Library has a large collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and reference books about sociology located in the Reference section on Floor 1.
For books on your particular area of interest, search the catalog above for using the strategies on the How Do I Search? page of this guide.
Check out this sample of a few reference books that are available for you to use at the reference section of the library to get you started:
The Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States by 
Dictionary of Statistics and Methodology by 
The Harpercollins Dictionary of Sociology by 
American Attitudes by 
Women's Rights in the United States by 
Encyclopedia of the City by 
Encyclopedia of Disability by 
Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence and Abuse by 
Guns in American Society by To see some print books or encyclopedias, dictionaries or reference books, click on the tabs above.
You can access the Mesa College Library eBooks from any computer.
For eBooks on your particular area of interest, search the catalog above for using the strategies on the How Do I Search? page of this guide.
Check out this sample of a few e-books that are available from the library to get you started:
Power and Love; A Theory and Practice of Social Change by 
Debating Humanity: Towards a Philosophical Sociology / by 
Police Brutality, Racial Profiling, and Discrimination in the Criminal Justice System by 
The Broken Ladder : How Inequality Affects the Way We Think, Live, and Die by 
