Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology Research Guide

A guide to sociology research resources and strategies

Searching by Journal

​​Journal covers

 If you need to find articles in a particular journal or want to browse through that journal, the following resources will help you get to the right place.

Library shelves filled with periodicals

Search Multiple Journals by Title 

Most of the Mesa Library's online magazines, journals, and newspapers can be found in article databases from EBSCO or ProQuest or in a search through SuperSearch. 

Look for the links marked Full Text  (PDF Full Text, HTML Full Text, etc.) to access the article.  If the article is not in full text, look for the   icon and click on it to see if the article is available somewhere else at Mesa or at another area library.

You can access and search our larger general subject database with the links below. 

Image credit: Photo by Maarten van den Heuvel on Unsplash

Sociology Databases

Most journals can be accessed through these library databases;

The JSTOR database of online journals includes the titles listed below and many others.  Most titles in JSTOR do not include the most recent years/issues of a publication.  For more recent coverage, consult the List of Magazines, Journals, and Newspapers.

A collection of sociology books and journals covering gender and ethnic studies, religion, criminology, marriage and family, social psychology, and more

Sociology Journals 

Scholarly, Trade, and Popular Articles

This video created by the Krueger Library - Winona State University is an excellent overview of the differences between scholarly, trade, and popular articles.