Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health Information Management Research Guide

OneSearch

OneSearch is the library's discovery service.  Discovery services are a fairly new research tool that allows you to search across many databases at one time. Discovery services do not search across every library database but on average it will search across about 75% of them. OneSearch is a great tool to see what information exists for your research topics

Try entering a search into the OneSearch box beloow to give it a try.




Use Databases to Find Professional and Scholarly Journal Articles

Students doing computer work in classroom setting.

When you need to find articles for college and career research projects, be sure to take advantage of quality article databases.  With databases, you can search thousands of publications all at once, and then efficiently focus your search by topic, date, full text availability, and resource type (e.g., scholarly journals -versus- magazines or professional trade publications).

Current Mesa students and staff have 24/7 online access (both on and off-campus) to the databases highlighted below. Just enter your college ID# and last name when prompted.

Top Databases for H.I.M. Research:
Other Specialized Databases to Explore:
 
Databases for Consumer-Oriented News Coverage:

Full Text Finder Tools

If you are looking for a particular magazine, journal, or newspaper title and you want to find out if the Mesa library has access to the full text (in print or online format) use OneSearch Journal Finder.

Question mark graphic What if the full text is not available at Mesa?  Here's another tip ...

For health sciences-related literature searches especially, if the full text of a particular medical journal of interest is not available in the Mesa College Library collection and/or database offerings, another key community resource you will want to be aware of is the Biomedical Library at the UC San Diego campus.

Members of the public can visit the UCSD Biomedical Library in person, and then browse/search/utilize -- on site as a campus visitor -- their extensive collection of online and print medical research journals (one of the largest collections in our state and beyond, given that UCSD's Biomedical Library supports the UCSD School of Medicine).

UCSD Biomedical Library

To check the journal holdings of the UCSD Libraries (including the Biomedical Library), search the UCSD Libraries Catalog.

See also the UCSD campus website and library web pages for hours and parking information.  The weekend is often a good time to visit the Biomedical Library (as a campus visitor), since free parking is available on Saturdays and Sundays.