 |
If you need to find definitions and/or background and overview information on a topic, reference books (such as specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries) can be helpful. The library offers the following two multidisciplinary reference databases that allow you to search hundreds of online reference books simultaneously: |
Look for the "Search within publication" feature. Then enter keywords to pull up the definitions or specific sections of the book that relate to your topic of interest.
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by
This set provides more than 1,230 alphabetically arranged entries, of which about 100 are new, covering topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. It covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.
Oxford Concise Medical Dictionary
Authoritative dictionary covering all aspects of medical science and terminology.
COVID-19 and the Rise of Telemedicine: Benefits and Challenges by 
Information Privacy in the Evolving Healthcare Environment by 
Medical Terminology and Anatomy for Coding by 
Pediatric ICD-10-CM 2020: a Manual for Provider-Based Coding by 
Race, Ethnicity, Gender and Other Social Characteristics As Factors in Health and Health Care Disparities by 
Stanfield's Essential Medical Terminology with Navigate 2 Advantage Access by  |
If the books you need are not available at an SDCCD campus, try searching the San Diego CIRCUIT Catalog. The CIRCUIT interface allows you to search for and request books from the collections of SDSU, UCSD, USD, CSUSM, San Diego Public Library system, and San Diego County Library system libraries. Connect to the San Diego CIRCUIT website to learn more about how to use this free interlibrary borrowing service that is available to anyone with a public library card. |
